Tuesday, 6 May 2014

Track Of The Day: James - 'Moving On'

After a few years away, James return with their new studio album 'La Petite Mort' on June 2, their finest in years and a record enriched with terrific songs and immersive emotional atmospheres. With an urgent high reaching chorus, 'Moving On' is classic James, stepping forward in their own way while recalling the liberated passion of their 'Seven' era material. Topping it all off is the blast of Andy Diagram's evocative trumpet, which adds something of a magic touch. Interestingly 'La Petite Mort' is French for "the little death", a euphemism for orgasm. The LP is the band's first full-length album since 2008's 'Hey Ma' and follows the two 2010 mini albums 'The Night Before' and 'The Morning After'. La Petite Mort was recorded in the wake of Tim Booth losing his mother and best friend in quick succession and understandably many of the songs deal with mortality. In spite of that, what we have here is an incredibly uplifting record.

For a live review of James' magnificent gig at Bristol Colston Hall last year, go HERE. To read a review of their boxset 'The Gathering Sound' go HERE. The band are going to be touring the UK in November, with support from Starsailor. Tickets are on sale this Friday (May 9), and more details can be found HERE.

No comments:

Post a Comment