Tuesday, 24 January 2012

PREVIEW: Feeder - Generation Freakshow

Generation Freakshow is the forthcoming eighth studio album by the Welsh rock band Feeder. It is set to be released on April 23rd 2012. 

It was due to be the second in a series of two albums released in 2010 by the band, following up previous album Renegades. However, the band decided to hold more recording sessions for the album, leading them to delay the album until 2012.

1. "Oh My"   3:39
2. "Borders"   3:25
3. "Idaho"   3:03
4. "Hey Johnny"   3:21
5. "Quiet"   4:07
6. "Sunrise"   3:59
7. "Generation Freakshow"   3:32
8. "Tiny Minds"   3:48
9. "In All Honesty"   3:22
10. "Headstrong"   4:05
11. "Fools Can't Sleep"   4:29
12. "Children of the Sun"   4:11

In 2010, during the Renegades sessions, a number of tracks were left off the album before then being considered for inclusion for the follow-up to that album. As there were not enough to fit on the album, more were recorded during the closing stages of the year, with the band taking a break from recording on 19 December, before resuming recording on 10 January 2011. Between 16 January and 24 January a production session began in New York City, this included overdubs, guitars and keyboards with Grant also flying over to record vocals, while some of the album was already recorded in London. On 19 January 2011 a photo of song lyrics written on a sheet of paper was posted on their official Facebook page. One song is already in public knowledge, being so far played live on tour under three different working titles, with those being "Jessie", "White City Rock" and "Borders". In an interview with Heineken Music, on 27 January 2011 Grant revealed that 19 or 20 songs are so far in the recording stages, while the album is planned to be released after their tour of the United Kingdom and Europe ends in March, and like Renegades, looks likely to be released domestically on their own Big Teeth Music imprint.

In an interview with The University Observer, Grant describes the new album: "Its eclectic, much more eclectic than the Renegades album... "Its definitely a more commercial record. I think if you liked Comfort in Sound and you liked Yesterday Went Too Soon, then I think you’ll like this album" ... "There are some real tunes on this and some anthems; there are some rocky moments as well". Grant also revealed in the same interview, that there will be rock songs and melodic songs on the record. There were also plans to release a single or a free track download during their February - March tour which may or may not be on the new album. This later went on to become "Side By Side", which was a chart-eligible paid download in aid of the victims of the 2011 Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami in Japan. The single charted at #91, marking their first top 100 chart visit since 2008's "We Are the People", while becoming their 25th top 100 single in the process. It ultimately did not appear on the album. Grant Nicholas cited on the band's Facebook page, that the single was released purely for the Japanese Tsunami disaster with the chart position not being as important. During their 2011 touring, Feeder introduced drummer Damon Wilson as a live regular and session musician. On 23 September 2011, Grant Nicholas posted on the band's Facebook page that the recording of their yet-untitled eighth studio album is complete with only mixing on the final song to be finalised, before mastering then began on the 30 September in New York. Feeder announced on 10 October that they were currently doing artwork on the new album, before an announcement was made on 14 November, that acoustic versions of some of the new songs are being recorded while Taka is staying in Tokyo. On 29 November 2011, the sequencing process of the album began.

Feeder hosted a teaser trailer on YouTube titled "Coming Soon" on 2 December 2011 and had a message written in Morse code as "-... --- .-. -.. . .-. ...", which translates to "Borders" in plain English. On 6 December 2011 another trailer was released, announcing "Borders" as the first single from the new album, including a four-date tour. "Borders" will be released on CD, cassette and 7" on 30 January 2012, with the parent album Generation Freakshow set to be released on 26 March 2012 but later delayed until April 23rd 2012. This will be the first time Feeder have released a cassette single since 2001's "Just a Day".

No comments:

Post a Comment