Thursday, 24 January 2013

PREVIEW: OMD - English Electric

English Electric is the twelfth studio album by British synthpop band Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD). It is their second album since the reformation of the band. The album will be released in the UK on 8 April 2013. Scroll down to hear 'Decimal' and 'Please Remain Seated'.

On 14 January 2013, the band announced details of the album release date, track listing, and a teaser video featuring the short Dazzle Ships-esque track "Decimal". The album will be released on CD, deluxe CD+DVD, heavyweight vinyl LP, a collector's tin boxset, and also digitally.

The track "Kissing the Machine" was originally featured on the 1993 album Esperanto by Elektric Music, a project by Karl Bartos, who had recently left Kraftwerk. The track, co-written with Andy McCluskey, has been completely re-worked by Paul Humphreys for English Electric, and features Claudia Brücken as the voice of the machine.

"Metroland" is scheduled to be released as the first single on 25 March 2013.

All songs written and composed by OMD (except where stated). 
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Please Remain Seated"    
2. "Metroland"    
3. "Night Café"    
4. "The Future Will Be Silent"    
5. "Helen of Troy"    
6. "Our System"    
7. "Kissing the Machine"   Karl Bartos, Andy McCluskey  
8. "Decimal"    
9. "Stay with Me"    
10. "Dresden"    
11. "Atomic Ranch"    
12. "Final Song"    


Andy McCluskey
Paul Humphreys
Martin Cooper
Malcolm Holmes

Claudia Brücken: machine voice on "Kissing The Machine"

Recommend Mr Scott:Music On Google
Like Mr Scott:Music On Facebook
Music Blog Directory

No comments:

Post a Comment