Tuesday, 20 January 2015

REWIND: Manic Street Preachers - No Surface All Feeling

Today (January 20) is the birthday of Manic Street Preachers bassist and lyricist Nicky Wire. To celebrate the Welsh rock n roll icon turning 45, today's Rewind selection is the closing track from the astonishing 1996 album 'Everything Must Go'. The album was the first to be released following the disappearance of Richey Edwards, and featured lyrics left behind by the missing lyrical genius. This track however was worded by Nicky, and provided a powerful and poignant climax to the seminal LP. The album reached number 2 in the UK charts and won a Brit Award for Best Album, with the band also winning Best Band that same year.

If anyone reading this has never experienced the brilliance of 'Everything Must Go', sort that out now.

No comments:

Post a Comment