Saturday, 9 November 2013

NEWS: Cast to reissue back catalogue as deluxe editions

Merseyside four piece Cast are the latest group to have their albums released as deluxe editions. Scroll down for a Top Of The Pops performance of their stunning 1996 single 'Flying'.

On 27th January 2014, long running catalogue label Edsel Records are pleased to present deluxe and remastered, 2CD editions of the first three Cast albums, with their 4th 'Beetroot' being released as a CD/DVD. Undoubtedly the definitive editions of the band’s catalogue, each release will come with all the B sides from the singles, original artwork, high-quality new packaging, exclusive bonus audio, extra tracks plus new sleevenotes. These superb packages will also include new interviews with frontman John Power. Labelled "The Who of the 90’s", Noel Gallagher once described watching Cast play live as “a religious experience.”  Formed in 1992 from the ashes of two of the most lauded guitar bands of recent times (The La’s and Shack) Cast released four albums between 1995 and 2001.

Their 1995 debut ‘All Change, a delightful slice classic British pop, was released on Polydor Records at the height of the Britpop movement, and became the highest selling album for the label, selling over one million copies and spawning four Top 20 hit singles in the form of ‘Fine Time’, ‘Alright’, ‘Sandstorm’ and ‘Walkaway’. Further commercial success continued with the more classic rock-inspired album ‘Mother Nature Calls’ (1997) which peaked at #3, going platinum and bringing two additional top ten hits with 'Free Me', ‘Live the Dream’ and ‘Guiding Star’, while the beautiful ‘I'm So Lonely’ made the Top 20. The band moved towards a heavier and more orchestral sound for third album ‘Magic Hour’ (1999), keen to distance themselves from the Britpop movement. First single ‘Beat Mama’ hit the top ten, but the Britpop movement was faltering and a number of Cast's contemporaries disbanded. The band’s fourth album would eventually lead to the band’s split. ‘Beetroot’ (2001) used electronic beats and dance-orientated sounds, as the band largely abandoned the ethos of producing simple yet catchy three minute pop songs. With the album's only single ‘Desert Drought’ failing to make an impact, the band split the following year. 

After the band’s split, John Power released three solo albums, and has played intermittently since 2005 with the reformed La’s. A decade later, and the original line-up of John Power, Liam ‘Skin’ Tyson, Pete Wilkinson and Keith O’Neill reunited with original producer John Leckie for ‘Troubled Times’, a return to form that came after over a decade away. After the album's release, 2012 saw a series of sold-out shows, and lead singer John Power being part of the Hillsborough Justice Collective that reached number 1 in the UK charts. 

No comments:

Post a Comment