Sunday, 7 October 2012

LISTEN TO: Muse - The 2nd Law

So earlier this week Muse released their 6th album 'The 2nd Law', and personally I think it's a winner. even the two singles I was unsure of at first now sound like they make a lot more sense within the context of this album. You can stream 'The 2nd Law' here via the embedded Spotify player below or go to a stream HERE courtesy of The Guardian.

The Guardian's Alexis Petridis rated the album four out of five stars, complimenting the band's ambition but finding fault with the album's bombastic tendencies which were also present on their previous albums, stating "no one goes to see a blockbuster for its profundity and deep characterisation. They go for the stunts and the special effects, both of which The 2nd Law delivers."] BBC music critic Ian Winwood also gave the album a positive review, highlighting "Supremacy", "Liquid State" and "The 2nd Law: Isolated System", saying that Muse "present themselves in any guise they please". The Telegraph's Helen Brown rated the album four out of five stars, noting the album's eclectic influences and reserving praise for "Madness" in particular. The Observer's reviewer also alluded to Muse's bombastic tendencies, saying "Bellamy is not blind to the contradictions of his band's attempts continually to ramp the ludicrousness up to 11; endless growth is, of course, unsustainable. But for now they remain pretty comfortable with the idea of obscene over-inflation. So should we."

The album has been criticized by numerous publications for being too much of a departure from the band's typical rock style and embracing far too many genres and influences. Allmusic rated the album three out of five stars, noting "their excursions into dubstep and dance music on tracks like "Madness" and "Follow Me" feel more like remixes than original songs. Songs like these definitely have the spine of Muse tracks, but the production that's built up around them feels almost alien." Kyle Anderson of Entertainment Weekly gave the album a grade of C+, claiming that "the band goes overboard with Queen-isms" and expressing disappointment at the lack of electronic music elements compared to the band's expectations that the album would be a departure from previous releases.

1. "Supremacy"   4:55
2. "Madness"   4:39
3. "Panic Station"  3:03
4. "Prelude"   0:57
5. "Survival"   4:17
6. "Follow Me"   3:51
7. "Animals"   4:23
8. "Explorers"   5:48
9. "Big Freeze"   4:41
10. "Save Me"   5:09
11. "Liquid State"   3:03
12. "The 2nd Law: Unsustainable"   3:47
13. "The 2nd Law: Isolated System"   4:59

Recommend Mr Scott:Music On Google
Like Mr Scott:Music On Facebook
Music Blog Directory

No comments:

Post a Comment