Thursday, 6 September 2012

LISTEN TO: Atoms For Peace - Default

This morning Atoms For Peace, a band that includes Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, Nigel Godrich, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, drummer Joey Waronker and percussionist Mauro Refosco surprised the world by releasing a new single called 'Default' on iTunes. 

The song is available to download now, and will be released by XL Recordings on September 10th (via Pitchfork). Listen to the new track below...

“Default” marks the group’s second release in as many months. Yorke said in a statement: "You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms for Peace.The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea."

He added: "We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing. Immersed in the area between the two… electronic and live."

A full album will follow next year and will be released on XL recordings. 

Last month, Modeselektor’s label Monkeytown released a split single featuring a remix of Atoms For Peace’s own “Other Side” and a remix of Other Lives’ “Tamer Animals”.

Earlier this year, Yorke said he planned to release Atoms For Peace’s full-length album before the end of the year.

Stereogum said "It’s an oceanic but anxious thing, running on off-kilter electronic blips but still keeping some of Yorke’s sense of the huge."

Click here to listen to 'Default'. (Stream courtesy of

Recommend Mr Scott:Music On Google
Like Mr Scott:Music On Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment