Friday, 27 April 2012

New Order - 'Lost Sirens' - will it ever be released?

The release of the "new" New Order album has been surrounded in mystery for a while now. In November last year they were supposed to be releasing 'Lost Sirens', but soon the release date was changed from December 2011 to March 2012. Over a month on from March and it seems that the album's release has been delayed indefinitely...

'Lost Sirens' is an eight-track CD/LP package featuring material left over from the recording sessions for 2005 swan song Waiting for the Sirens’ Call.

1. I'll Stay with You (4.22)
2. Sugarcane (4.47)
3. Recoil (5.08)
4. Californian Grass (4.38)
5. Hellbent (4.28)
6. Shake it Up (5.21)
7. I've Got a Feeling (4.29)
8. I Told You So (5.05)

While New Order hasn’t formally announced the release, keyboardist Gillian Gilbert discussed Lost Sirens in a recent Brazilian interview to promote the band’s appearance in Sao Paulo this weekend. According to an English translation, she acknowledges issues with former member  Peter Hook, and says there is “a lot going on behind the scenes on the copyright.” She adds that the intention was to release the set at Christmas, “but I do not know if it will (be) delayed.”
The reunited New Order — Gilbert, Bernard SumnerStephen Morris, 2000s-era guitarist Phil Cunningham and Bad Lieutenant bassist Tom Chapman (replacing the estranged Peter Hook) — played two shows in October, and is slated to perform in London and South America in this month. Future touring plans have not yet been announced, but in the Brazilian interview, Gilbert says, “We will do more festivals, we are going to Australia. We’re not thinking about recording, we’re just enjoying it now.”

Image of New OrderThe release description for 'Lost Sirens' is:
Following the release of TOTAL: From Joy Division To New Order in early 2011 and the surprise success of Lost Siren track "Hellbent", New Order are proud to announce the release of The Lost Sirens, an eight track mini album featuring Bernard Sumner, Peter Hook, Stephen Morris and Philip Cunningham. Featuring a truly eclectic mix of electronica and guitars in the way only New Order know how, The Lost Sirens features eight tracks which were recorded during the sessions for Waiting For The Sirens Call and are all previously unreleased. "Hellbent" features on The Lost Sirens in it’s original non-radio edit form (as per TOTAL) and "I Told You So" is a previously unreleased mix.

The delay of the record's release could be something to do with legal action from ex-bassist Peter Hook who has claimed he would "fuck over" his old band any way he could...

Any new information surrounding 'Lost Sirens' will be posted here...

1 comment:

  1. You can listen to the clips from the album here, they sound very good and fresh.